It’s ok to be crap, everyone once was.

Todays Daily Prompt: If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?)

Ooooh. Tough question!

I love living life, and if an opportunity presents itself to me – I’ll take it. I find new activities that are on locally, and go along to see if it’s for me. I even started my own club (Crochet Corner).

I love taking part in lots of things, when in actual fact I’m actually pretty crap at most! That’s the reason why I try so many new ventures, in the hope that one day I’ll find my ‘thing’. Does it happen like that? I guess some people are lucky enough to have a natural flair for something, while others have to put in a LOT of hard work. In the latter instance, most people just give up, thinking that they’ll never get better.. and lets face it – some things are no fun if you suck at it!

I love this quote,

“What nobody tells people who are beginners — and I really wish someone had told this to me . . . is that all of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple years you make stuff, and it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase. They quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this. We know our work doesn’t have this special thing that we want it to have. We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know it’s normal and the most important thing you can do is do a lot of work. Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap, and your work will be as good as your ambitions. And I took longer to figure out how to do this than anyone I’ve ever met. It’s gonna take a while. It’s normal to take a while. You’ve just gotta fight your way through.”

- Ira Glass

Because of this quote I continue to crochet. To doodle. To  occasionally make things. I sing and I blog.

I totally get that if I want to be good at something I have to practice.

Particularly in relation to arty stuff – who really cares if it’s never amazing? I enjoy doing it. It ignites a wee spark in my brain and heart that makes me happy, and the feeling of doing is one of the best feelings in the world.

There is also the feeling when admiring a creation – I think creators may look at their produce with something similar to ‘beer goggles’. But that’s ok. It IS amazing. YOU made it!

If you want a new skill – go get it. Or have fun trying.

In terms of fast tracking to a skill ….. hmm, I’d like to be skillful in something far-flung from my current existence, like carpentry. Something creative, inspiring, and useful.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s ok to be crap, everyone once was.

  1. carolofthebells says:

    I love the quote, and it’s true, isn’t it? It also helps to have some champion of yourself, someone who, if they cannot honestly ooh and ahh, can at least say, “Wow, good for you!” Lately, I’ve taken to rearranging little gifts and nuggets of memories — nice stones, starfish of different sizes, feathers, pine cones, whatev — into shapes and patterns where I’ll see and enjoy them and let them evoke whatever they will in this new form. (Yes, sort of like a rock garden!) I recall, however, once drawing a woman’s portrait and absolutely hating it — I crumpled up the paper and my cousin said, “OMG, WHAT R U DOIN??” She had loved it, asked me to continue on with it. So, I uncrumpled it and continued. Indeed, practice –but also, keep doing something until you see it the way you wanted to, but didn’t know it at the time. I ultimately liked the portrait. I enjoyed this post, and am gonna look around a little more here!

    • misselletea says:

      Thank you :) I love your idea of rearranging your trinkets and keepsakes, making art from your memories. I love looking at all of my wee bits and bobs, this sounds like something I would DEFINITELY enjoy doing!

      I’m glad to hear you unscrumpled the portrait, we should all keep going as we may surprise ourselves :)

  2. Pingback: What makes it popular? The Stat Connection | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

Leave a Reply

