Undo the Captcha

Daily Prompt

If you could un-invent something, what would it be? Discuss why, potential repercussions, or a possible alternative.

The annoying Captcha process when signing up for newsletters or joining communities online.

They have been designed to stop spammers attacking mail boxes.  Please prove you’re not a robot? I know for a fact that I’m not, so why do I find it so hard to decipher these cryptic conundrums!?

I didn’t mind the odd one or two when it was first introduced for security reasons. Now LOADS of websites have jumped on the band wagon and implemented this response test. I find this particularly annoying as

1. Sometimes the codes are illegible

and

2. These websites have recorded MY details, so they can spam me!

It’s a funny old world :)

Captcha words

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Undo the Captcha

  1. The Cutter says:

    This is the best one I’ve read yet. Is it so tough to at least make the captchas either readable or real words?

  2. TammyeHoney says:

    Even having them sound it out to you it is gurgled and you can’t understand. Facebook is horrid at doing this constantly. Thank you for sharing this nightmare.

  3. Harmony says:

    Hear hear! I have to request at least ten codes before I get them right.

  4. kansamuse says:

    I have gotten so frustrated at times that I have given up. So much for those sties.

  5. Pingback: 5 Things I Would UNinvent « Cheri Speak

  6. Pingback: Chocolates, Anyone | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: There’s No Place To Hide, Get Lost, Scratch, Or Pick Anymore | The Jittery Goat

  8. bibibapka says:

    I totally agree with you!

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Undo | Joe's Musings

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Undo – Rock & Roll It All the Way Back (An Online Mini-Musical) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Undo OR The Right To Live | Beyond Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

