Lentil , sweet potato and curly kale soup

Soup is amazing! I’m definitely guilty of throwing everything in the pot, and I don’t really think much about flavours,  rarely have I made a pot of soup with two main ingredients.

Last  night was no exception, I was using up some ingredients that I had in my kitchen.

I made a small pot of soup, enough for me – twice!

Ingredients

1 Carrot
1 Leek
1 Sweet potato
Large handful of red lentils
Vegetable stock
Large bunch of curly kale (maybe 4/5 big leaves?)

Method

Chop up the carrot, leek and sweet potato and ‘sweat’ in the pot with some olive oil for 5 minutes.

Add the red lentils (rinsed) and enough boiling water to cover, and add a vegetable stock cube.

Cover, and let boil, bubble and simmer for 25 minutes.

Add the curly kale, roughly cut but still quite chunky, and cook for a further 5 minutes.

Then enjoy!

Adding the kale in at the end means it doesn’t wilt away to nothing, and is still chewy. hmmm. Chewy!!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

