The whole of the moon. Plus 4 more!

Aim for the moon. If you miss you may hit a star.

– W. Clement Stone

We went out with the ‘scope last night, aptly armed with the moon filter as the moon was so bright!  The bright companion to the left of the moon was… Jupiter! What a pair.

We’re not well versed at using the sight to line up the telescope; the moon poses no problem, but moving over that small fraction to get Jupiter in focus was a bit trickier! Schmerc’s dad, Pappy P, was the man who can (could).

He found Jupiter, and we could also see 4 of its moons, all lined up nicely. Jupiter has 62 moons in total, 4 of which are known as Galilean Moons as they were spotted in the early 1600’s by Galileo Galilei (How cool is that name!?) Everyone has heard of Galileo, but I’m not sure that everyone knows his full name.

Jupiter and the 4 Galilean Moons

The four Galilean moons that are visible to us are called Io, Europa, Ganymede and Callisto.

I didn’t take the picture left, I found it on Wikipedia. It is very similar to what we could see, although one moon was very close to the right of the planet.

When I put my phone camera up to the optic a clear picture of flashes on my screen, then disappears. I’m SURE if I try for long enough I can get a good photo, especially of the moon.

I’ll try harder next time. Perhaps when it’s not quite as cold! The longer we stayed out the lighter it became, the moon really did light up the world. As we became more accustomed to the dark more stars were revealed to us. The frost was glistening on the hardening grass, leaving big foot imprints as we crunched and walked  through it.

I’ll leave you with a verse from the Old Scottish Song by Harry Lauder:

“Just a wee deoch an doris, just a wee drop, that’s all.

Just a wee deoch an doris afore ye gang awa.

There’s a wee wifie waitin’ in a wee but an ben.

 If you can say, “It’s a braw bricht moonlicht nicht the nicht”,

Then yer a’richt, ye ken.”

 P.S I love these astronomy posts. By writing stuff down I’m reinforcing it in my brain, helping me to learn! Awesome!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The whole of the moon. Plus 4 more!

  1. Harmony says:

    That certainly was an awesome and educational post! I wish I had a telescope, I’d probably stay out all night!

Leave a Reply

