In a crisis..

Honestly evaluate the way you respond to crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?

I would love to say that I’m one of those people who rises to the challenge in a crisis, doing remarkable and sensible things without consciously thinking about my actions. The truth is, I’m not.

I have only really been part of one ‘real’ crisis, that happened just over a year ago. My boyfriend was stabbed in an unprovoked attack outside a pub, while I was upstairs in the loo. When I walked back into the bar there was a weird atmosphere, half of the pub was empty and there was a trail of blood to the small room behind the bar, where a couple of my friends were nursing my man.

Holy fuck! There was blood everywhere, he looked white as a sheet and completely terrified. I think I gasped, moved towards him and touched his leg. There wasnt much room, the first aiders (friends) who were tending to him advised me to leave. I was crying, fumbling, helplessly looking around the pub for my bag before I left. The remaining people in the pub helped me find it and ushered me out.

The rest of my friends were outside – 40 of us had been enjoying drinks after a big Christmas dinner – and I stumbled out asking for a cigarette. I hadn’t smoked for MONTHS, and in the space of five minutes I smoked 3.

My friends were trying to console me, the police spoke to me, I walked in circles for a while. I phoned one of my friends (my boyfriends flat-mate) as he was waiting in their house up the street for us to come home as we were going to a party.

The ambulances arrived and he was brought out in a stretcher. I held his hand and told him that I loved him. He told me he loved me too. I wasn’t allowed in the same ambulance, I was taken to the hospital in another one.

One of my friends called his cousin and notified the rest of his family. Two of my friends phoned his (my beau’s) DAD, and drove 25 miles to go and pick him up. One of those friends (along with another) performed emergency first aid and it has been said that those actions potentially saved his life.

I didn’t do ANYTHING. I was completely useless. I hate that fact. When I’m lying on my death-bed many years from now and someone asks me if I have any regrets, my one (perhaps only?) regret will be that I didn’t do anything to help.

I’m just so thankful that he is alive. So much so you wouldn’t believe.

This is my response to the Daily Prompt.  I havent taken part in one before… eeek! Hope I’ve tagged it properly!!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In a crisis..

  1. Honesty! I love it! Well done.

Leave a Reply

