Ready, steady, go!!! Now! Go now!

Todays Daily Prompt

Set a timer for ten minutes. Open a new post. Start the timer, and start writing. When the timer goes off, publish.

Waa! The clock started about 30 seconds ago and I wasn’t ready, I had to navigate my way to my dashboard. Not as easy as you’d imagine.

I have something that I’d like to share with you in a post, but as this is the daily prompt, today isn’t the day. Today I’m just going to type and see what comes out.

Have you ever heard of a book called ‘The Artists Way’? It’s a self help type book, with lots of practical activities that help you tune into yourself and find your creative being. I’ve read the opening chapter of this book a few times.. but no further. Not sure why, I do want to be more creative!

The first chapter encourages you to do something called ‘morning pages’. Basically you get up earlier in the morning and write 3 pages. The page sizes are undefined, so I guess you just use whatever you have to hand. There is no rhyme nor reason to what you write, just put pen to paper and make sure your pen moves, and your brain spills thoughts onto the page. Kind of like what I’m doing now. I can see how this simple activity will spur you on your creative journey (obviously the other prompts in the book will help too), as once you spend a few days writing ‘Ugh, I’ve just woken up, I’m sleepy…. yadd, yadda, yadda’ I imagine that you will start to enjoy the flow of thoughts becoming words, and maybe even think about it the night before. It doesn’t matter if you don’t though, as long as you are writing honestly, and regularly.

When I was in secondary school, I loved writing. I had several diaries over the years and loved recording my thought and feelings (not really events, but I guess the thoughts highlighted the events). When I moved to Paisley I introduced myself to people as a writer… but at 17 I was more into partying and making friends that I didn’t really pursue that avenue. I’m now 30. I still love partying, and I still love my friends. I no longer profess to be anything I’m not (I haven’t written anything for me for over 13 years!) My grammar probably sucks. But you know what? I’m really happy…..

Uh oh. The timer went off. My ten minutes are up. I bet its pretty obvious how I was going to finish this post!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ready, steady, go!!! Now! Go now!

  1. determined34 says:

    Enjoyed reading your post 🙂 34

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set Go | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Hi. I have read The Artist’s Way and think it’s pretty good to help you push/develop the creative process. Maybe take it in small chunks?? Another good one is called Trying To Think Like Leonardo DaVinci. It has lots of little exercises, too. Mental floss?? 🙂

    • misselletea says:

      Ooooh, I’ve never heard of the second book – I’ll definietly check it out. I think now may be a good time for me to get stuck into the Artists Way again too 🙂

  4. Pingback: RAMBLE PROMPT | hastywords

Leave a Reply

