The best thing since sliced bread…

Yesterdays Daily Post: Most of us have heard the saying, “That’s the best thing since sliced bread!” What do you think is actually the best thing since sliced bread?

Well what do you know! For years I have piped up with the ‘fact’ that sliced bread was first sold commercially in 1938 whenever anyone utters the phrase above (the best thing since sliced bread). I wanted to keep this post factually accurate, so I checked trusty old Wikipedia just to be sure.…. and…..I’m wrong! I have been ten years out for about ten years! So. Sliced bread was first sold commercially in 1928. I eat my words.

Why does everyone love that saying? Well Wikipedia enlightened me with the fact that the  phrase was coined following someone saying that sliced bread was ‘the greatest thing since wrapped bread’. If you want to find out more details, you can click here.

I know that phrases develop over years and become part of our vocabulary and language tools; we use certain phrases as easily as words, almost without thinking.  I personally think there is a ‘thing’ with the ‘best thing since sliced bread’ phrase. What’s it saying to us? ‘Hey, look at me I’m convenient!’

We are living in a world where convenience is more important to lots of people than anything else, an era where everyone seems so pushed for time .. meaning convenience works for us. I am guilty of this too – I don’t eat as well as I should as I often opt for the easy route, I shop online rather than supporting my local high street (to be fair I DO shop in my town, but I also shop online as I can do it when I’m at work…  Its more convenient), I solve arguments by looking up the internet on my mobile phone, now that I’ve moved in with my boyfriend I use his microwave… there are loads of short cuts and corners of perceived convenience in my life, and probably yours too.

Warped clock - time

Perceived maybe isn’t the best word – these things ARE convenient. But is convenience really that good? Sometimes I think yes, other times I think no.

Back to the question at hand – what is the best thing since sliced bread?

The toaster. A handy device for toasting your perfectly cut slices of commercially sold bread, quickly, evenly and with minimum fuss. 

On a slightly different note, my ex boyfriend’s mum was filling out a Newspaper competition to win a Thorntons chocolate hamper. The question was a fill in the blank question, you know the type – an easy question that can be answered by reading an article or looking on their website to find the answer. The question was…

‘Thornton’s. Chocolate Heaven since_______’ The correct answer is 1911 (The year they were established) My ex’s mum wrote, ‘Thorntons. Chocolate heaven since Jesus was a boy.’ I kid you not!

* One last thing *

I knew that I had once read a good quote about time, and I just found it through Google. Pretty convenient. Apologies that this is a MASSIVE post, but I really think the following is pretty cool, and an accurate reflection on our society and modern life. Enjoy!

Paradox of our age

Today we have bigger houses yet smaller families
More convenience, but less time

We have more degrees, but less common sense
More knowledge, but less judgment

We have more experts, but more problems
More medicine, but less good health

We spend too recklessly
Laugh too little
Drive too fast
Get too angry too quickly
Stay up too late
Read too little
Watch TV too much
And are less considerate

We have multiplied our possessions, but have reduced our values
We talk too much, love too little and lie too often

We have learned how to make a living, but not a life
We have added years to life, but not life to years

We have taller buildings, but shorter tempers
Wider roads, but narrower viewpoints

We spend more, but have less
We buy more, yet enjoy it less

We have been all the way to the moon and back
But have trouble crossing the road to meet our neighbours.

We’ve conquered our outer space, But not our inner space

We’ve split the atom
But not our prejudice

We write more, learn less, plan more, but accomplish less
We have learned to rush, but not to wait,
We have higher incomes , but lower morals

We build more computers to hold more information, to produce more copies
But have less personal communication

We are long on quantity,
But less in quality

These are the times of fast foods and slow digestion
Tall men and short character

More leisure but less fun – more kinds of food – but less nutrition
Steep profits but shallow relationships.
Two incomes – but more divorce
nicer houses – but broken homes
These are days of quick trips, disposable diapers, throwaway morality, one-night stands, and pills that do everything from cheer, to quiet, to kill.
It is a time when there is much in the show window,
and nothing in the stockroom.

– Author Unknown

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The best thing since sliced bread…

  1. determined34 says:

    Great post. 🙂 D 34

  2. Lissa says:

    Love that poem!!!! and your post 😀

    • misselletea says:

      Thank you! I love it when you remember something you read that touched you, and then you find it using minimal description through our trusty friend Google. Total win 🙂

Leave a Reply

