Ch-ch-changes

Daily Prompt – You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

The idea of change freaks me out. I’ve tried to explain how I feel when I think about change, in this post from just over a year ago It’s all about to change.

I read (and agree with) loads of inspirational quotes that I see online, and ultimately I know that change is a pre requisite for progress. PROGRESS IS GOOD!!  I know that I need to make some changes in my life.

I’m going to try to explain how I feel about change, probably not very well!

When you split up with someone, looking forward hurts your heart so much. You think about things in advance, like events you had planned throughout the year, celebrations, Christmas, etc. It all seems too much to bear, and yes, you can’t actually cope with it!

In actual fact, what you can’t cope with is: trying to cram lots of emotions into a tiny space that is already full of sadness and confusion. Thinking about too much and trying to find all of the answers immediately. I bet you’ll find that you will certainly be able to cope with ‘the future’ when the time comes round, as smaller changes and adjustments will have taken place in your life and your outlook to help you settle with what is happening.

Does that make sense?

In honesty, I enjoy change. I like new challenges, and I love meeting new people. The thing that I don’t like is the feeling of imminent, looming, unavoidable change as I worry too much about how the change will work, what will actually happen when the change has taken place, what the practical upshot of it all will be, and how will I react and adapt to the changes. Too much!! Way too much to solve in a single sitting of thought.

I need to learn to be still, accept the changes for what they are and embrace the new paths that unfold in my life.

I applied for a new job a couple of week ago. I wanted it, then I got freaked out at the prospect of change. I then re-read the job description and realised that I REALLY wanted it! I tried hard to make this change my reality. I swotted hard and prepared a presentation. I swotted more. It turns out I didn’t get the job, but I was assured that I was a close second. (I’ll take that, the feedback I received was great, and kept me smiling for days).

Even though I didn’t get the job, I did manage to talk myself round and go for what I want.

If change was forced upon me I’m sure I’d cope. I’d definitely prefer small incremental steps of change.  Unless I had loads of money. If that was the case I would throw caution to the wind and go travelling. I’d be happy knowing that every day would be different, and the changes that were happening were all consequences of my own actions.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ch-ch-changes

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes … turn and face the … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: Letting It Go – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

