Guilty Pleasure – Call Me

Daily Prompt

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

Yes! I’m going to start todays post with one of my guilty pleasures…. check this bad boy song out:

Honestly… do you like it? I love it! It makes me smile and ALWAYS makes me want to dance. Only a select few agree with me, so if you don’t, its ok 🙂

I love my mobile phone, I use it daily. I have good phone, with lots of apps, and I use all of them too. (WordPress on the go, anyone?) I was playing about with my phone the other day and made this pointless picture:

LTMobile phones don’t have to rule your life; I don’t answer if it’s not convenient. I call my Gran and Grandpa weekly, yet I often buy wee cards to send to them too as I know they prefer it old school, and a wee something in the post always makes people smile.

A couple of years ago I was volunteering for Trees for Life over my birthday week.

Even though we were working in remote areas of the Scottish Highlands with no phone reception, I took my phone out on the field with me as the camera was pretty good. On my birthday, as we were driving to the work site we passed through an area with some reception and my phone started buzzing with a back-log of messages ‘Happy Birthday LT!’ ‘Many Happy Returns of the Day!’ then I got a ‘So sorry to hear about your man’ text. What!!?? What’s happened to Schmerco? I got another, ‘Sorry about the news, hope you’re ok..’ Just as panic was well and truly setting in and I was just about to phone home – I got another text naming ‘my man’. Turns out Patrick Swayze died the night before. I didn’t know, as we had no TV or reception at our digs.

Sorry to everyone related to Mr Swayze…. but PHEW!!!!!

I do love Patrick Swayze, mostly because I think he is HOT (doesn’t every woman?). It dawned on me that day that I must have had a bit of an infatuation as so many friends texted me about it! Even asking me, if I was ok. Yup, of course I am. I can get my fill of hotness through the Dirty Dancing DVD anytime.

Anyhoo, I do love my phone. I love being in touch with people at the drop of a hat, I love having a camera on stand by, I love Google Sky Maps, I love Facebook, I love having a wealth of information at my fingertips should I need it.

To combat people who use their phone when they’re not really supposed to, someone suggested this game:

When you go out for a meal with your friends, everyone places their phone in a pile on the middle of the table. The first one to touch their phone throughout dinner has to pay for everyone’s meal.

I like that idea, our mobile phone should complement our life, not take over. Its good to keep in touch with friends and family, but when you are actually with them… well, you should be enjoying that.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Guilty Pleasure – Call Me

  1. Interesting! I love the concept of placing phones in a pile and the first to touch his phone will pay for someone’s meal.
    🙂

    • misselletea says:

      Me too! I haven’t tried it, but I do think it’s a good idea. I find it quite rude sometimes when people text or facebook away, even though there are people in the room taking to them :/

    • Me too!!! I’m going to try it…It irks me to see a table full of people who are all speaking into a phone instead of talking to each other…What’s up with that? Maybe I’ll get a few free meals 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe | My Blog

  3. sha'tashari says:

    I love that game. I would never have to pay for another meal.

  4. Harmony says:

    I LOVE this song! Gonna be singing it all night now 🙂

    Excellent post, I really enjoyed it. My relationship with my phone is better than with any real life person. That being said, I absolutely agree with you; there’s nothing nothing ruder than someone sitting on their phone whilst in company.

    PS: My belated condolences on Patrick.

  5. josefkul says:

    I can definitely relate to your phone obsession, but not the band Spagna. As a music video it was horrible, but as a potential advertisement for blonde hair dye it was oddly effective.

    • misselletea says:

      True about the advert – heee!

      I can honestly see why you wouldn’t like Spagna… I myself know its not musical genius… BUT there is definitely something about it 😉 I’ll be honest, I have about ten songs that are equally as crap/good that I love. Sad, I know!

      Do you have any musical ‘guilty pleasures’?

  6. Pingback: WE CALLED EACH OTHER ALL SUMMER « hastywords

  7. Pingback: Big Phonale – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe … or Ring, Ring | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  9. Pingback: The best place to practice lifts, is in the water. | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

Leave a Reply

