Learning to learn

Daily Prompt
You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

The most successful way for me to learn anything is by using a mixture of all avenues available.

When I decided that I would like to learn to crochet, I bought a couple of books. Hmm. I couldn’t really make head nor tail of the photos illustrating the stages. I had to go to a club, where someone kindly demonstrated the moves. Afterwards I went home and watched a couple of tutorial videos on Youtube and practised what I had been shown.

Now that I know what I’m doing, the books make a whole lot of sense. In fact, I find it hard to believe that I struggled to understand what was going on!

That’s the thing with everything in life; its only easy if you know how.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Crochet and Crafting, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Learning to learn

  1. Colin DeWaay says:

    I definitely like to “learn by doing.” Of course that doesn’t always work, in which case like you all avenues are explored!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment … teach them well. | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Teachable Moment – You need schooling son/sister, step into my office! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. klassikurvz says:

    As I read your post, I remember I bought a book to learn photography. It is still sitting on the shelf, I much prefer going outdoors and manipulating the camera to get the best shot. One day, I know the book will be more valuable than it is today. 🙂

  5. determined34 says:

    Love your post : ) D 34

  6. Pingback: How Will I Know? – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

