Lucid dreaming – my surreal reality

Daily Prompt

What’s the most surreal experience you’ve ever had?

When I was younger I was interested in expanding my mind and exploring the depth of the human brain.. and this included lucid dreaming. I read about other people’s experiences and explored how to induce lucid dreaming. I found an article somewhere that encouraged participants to become aware of being awake, with the idea that when are sleeping you will be able to tell. I spent two days periodically asking myself, ‘Am I dreaming’. I would ask this question in my head, take note of my surroundings and whatever I was doing at the time, then reply, ‘No’.

After the second day of doing this, that night I had a horrible, horrible, HORRIBLE dream that my Dad had died. In my dream I was wailing and crying while half running down the street to get my sister.  I stopped before I crossed the road, looked at my hands, and asked myself if I was dreaming. I obviously hadn’t mastered what I was supposed to be doing here, as I replied ‘no’.

The rest is all a blur, all I remember afterwards is waking up in my bed with a genuine belief that my Dad had died the day before, and I had experienced some sort of melt down, had been sent to bed in a ‘nick’, and it was now the next day. I started crying, and went downstairs. My dad was there.

I’m not sure if recounting a dream is a good example of something surreal, as dreams in general are quite surreal and ‘out there’. This particular experience was very surreal to me – because I genuinely believed it was real.

I no longer want to be able to control my dreams, I like them as they are. I’m not confident that I have the brain capacity to make something like that work, and after feeling the way I felt when I woke up I definitely don’t want to find out.

Lucid Dreaming DPhealth storePhoto taken from DPHealthstore Lucid Dreaming Aid

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Life & The Universe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lucid dreaming – my surreal reality

  1. Harmony says:

    What a horrid experience! Those dreams or rather NIGHTMARES are the absolute worst as they feel so real.

    I practicing lucid dreaming on a regular basis and I have been able to ‘guide’ my dreams … my only fear is that one day I won’t be able to tell the difference between the dream and awake states [The movie Inception comes to mind]

    • misselletea says:

      I havent seen Inception yet, although now I’m intrigued! I seriously have The Fear too badly to dabble more, although I’ve heard of lots of postitive experiences through Lucid Dreaming. I hope yours have all been positive 🙂

      • Harmony says:

        You have got to watch it!!! It’s definitely in my top 10 movies of all time … it really gets the brain working overtime.

        I haven’t had any experiences as bad as yours, and I have ‘trained’ myself to wake up when I don’t like the dream and then return to move it in another direction.

      • misselletea says:

        Cool, I’ll definitely check it out 🙂

        Aw man, I’m pretty jealous. I’d be more likely to try the lucid dreaming again if I thought I could wake myself up. Maybe that first time was just a blip. Hmm. Food for thought.

      • Harmony says:

        It takes years of regular practice, and I find that the longer I meditate beforehand, the easier the journey gets. Oh and do keep a dream diary next to your bed and when you wake up, write down everything you can remember. You don’t necessarily need to go back and read it, just the fact that your wrote it, reinforces it and assists you in remembering dreams in the future. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Whoa! It Was Awesome | My Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Whoa! « Inspire the Idea

  4. Pingback: AGAIN… « hastywords

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Whoa! – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Give The Lad An Oscar” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Whoa! … Pope Benedict XVI (Ret.) not RIP | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Pingback: In the Face of Fire « Cheri Speak

  8. Pingback: Reality Blog Award! | Pondering Spawned

Leave a Reply

