Normal? What’s that?

Daily Prompt

Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might. Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

I know I’m not normal! I also know that no one really is, what constitutes normal? The rosy lives of the average suburban family featured on films or TV? Naaaa. That’s not real!

Two words for you:

Pobody’s Nerfect

Or ‘normal’.

I met a lovely person at a mutual friends party a few years ago, and as we were chatting and uncovering facts about each other she said, “Wow, you have a lot of ‘things’!” She was talking about habits. Weird habits. Its true I do.

  • I suck my thumb
  • I twirl my hair and often pull strands out to twist around my fingers until it eventually breaks
  • I take a teddy to bed and take great joy in sniffing its head

I know how gross they sound, I cringe when I talk or write about these habits of mine as they DO seem really weird, but to me they provide great comfort and they are ‘things’ that I have always done.

Here are a few other facts about me.

  • I spend most of my waking time at home singing, making up songs to accompany the task that I’m doing at the time
  • I don’t have a middle name, but I enjoy adding one in to a phrase used to describe me at a specific time. eg ‘They don’t call me ‘Lisa ‘good with the boys’ Taylor’ for nothing your know’, ‘They don’t call me Lisa ‘can’t use chop sticks’ Taylor for nothing you know’, etc, etc. I have used this phrase to death, it’s very useful for getting out of a sticky situation when you have said something totally stupid or inappropriate
  • I can touch my nose with my tongue. I can *almost* pick my nose with it

There you have it, a small glimpse into my not so normal world. I imagine that upon discovering my dirty little secrets you will be throughly disgusted and appalled!

If we can’t be honest…. what’s the point?

Me sucking my thumb and sniffing my teddy

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Normal? What’s that?

  1. Sammy Davies says:

    That all sounds perfectly normal….for a 3 year old?!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Normal Means? Are we Far From Normal? | My Blog

  3. kansamuse says:

    It is ways you have deal with stress. Not harmful but really more normal that you might realize. I know of adults that do some of the same things. You seem okay with it which is good.

  4. misselletea says:

    I am definitely ok with it. I’ve been a thumb sucker all of my life, and I guess when most people would have stopped I kept at it due to my parents splitting up. On a positive note, while I do still do these things I don’t do them half as often as I used to, and I seem to be naturally growing out of them. My Dad tried everything when I was younger to stop me, but nothing would work!

  5. Pingback: Six Mundane Observations About Moi | Stuphblog

  6. The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) says:

    Love the frankness of this. I can also “almost” pick my nose with my tongue. I have no idea *how* I worked that one out, just one day I decided to see how far I could reach with my tongue! How did you figure that out? 🙂

    • misselletea says:

      My whole family can do it. I tried years ago and discovered I could too! All good people can 🙂 Thanks for your comments, after I posted I worried that I had laid myself too bare!

      • The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) says:

        I sometimes have the same worries, then I get a bottle of scotch and pour a couple of fingers and the worries magically disappear 😉

        The most interesting blogs lay it all open. That’s why I started blogging, to be able to do this without fear or worry of judgement. Keep it up, it’s great to read!

      • The Rambling Man (aka The Night Hawk Photographer) says:

        Haha, och hud yer wheesht, yer making me blush noo 😉

  7. asignoflife says:

    I know these are personal habits that are embarrassing, but it made me laugh to know there’s other people out there who do strange things.

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Far From Normal – Hell, I Ain’t Got Time to Bleed or be Normal! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  9. Pingback: I’m As Unique As The Next Guy | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: Normalacy is Relative « A Short A Day

  11. Harmony says:

    I sucked my thumb until I was … hmmm, how old am I now 😉 And I still sleep with my baby blankie. It goes EVERYWHERE with me, can’t sleep without it.

    You know, normal is soooo overrated! Stay the interesting unique gal you are!

  12. Pingback: DROWN INSIDE ME « hastywords

Leave a Reply

