Ain’t nowt wrong with a bit of fantasy

The Tooth Fairy (or Easter Bunny, or Santa Claus . . .): a fun and harmless fiction, or a pointless justification for lying to children?

Harmless fiction that kids love!

I seriously don’t see the harm in anything like this. My friend bought the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ book and for the past 2 Christmas’s has been extremely creative with this wee chap, placing him in obscure places and making it look like he’s been getting up to mischief while her children have been sleeping. He even had his own passport.

ben3  ben2

benjamin HolllypointEvery morning I would look at her photos on facebook and think, ‘What a wonderful mum!’ Her children LOVE Benjamin (the elf). I have no doubt that when they are older they will look back fondly on these memories rather than scorn her for ‘lying’ about it.

ben1

We help children to develop problem solving skills through jigsaws and puzzles, creativity through colouring-in books first, then arts and cra

fts… why should we not develop their imagination?

I’m thankful for those amongst us who have great imaginations.

I wouldn’t say that authors lie to me, they take me on a journey that fills me with emotion, teaches me empathy and above all… entertains me. I really fail to see what’s wrong with that.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ain’t nowt wrong with a bit of fantasy

  1. Whole heartedly agreed!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fantasy Two days in a row | My Blog

  3. Fluffmum says:

    🙂 xx

  4. Pingback: The Daily Prompt: Fantasy | Pondering Spawned

  5. Pingback: “You Can’t Handle The Truth!” | The Jittery Goat

  6. I agree. I also think that in a way fairy tales help develop children’s personality in a good way.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fantasy | My Atheist Blog

  8. Pingback: Magic Vs. Reality Tug-Of-War Results | thematticuskingdom

  9. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

Leave a Reply

