No way, not on your nelly… where do I sign?

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

I’m a member of my local authority’s Leisure Club, meaning I have access to gyms and swimming pools in my neighbouring towns as well as my own.

They have been making a lot of changes recently, including closing down facilities in some villages to make bigger, better services elsewhere. This grinds my goat a bit, surely the council should be focusing on social inclusion?

During my bout of swimming lessons I was going regularly to the sauna at that pool, and spent many a night talking to the regulars about a new spa facility that was opening up in my local centre. The new spa ISN’T included in our monthly members  fee! It would cost members an extra £15 a month! It’s a 5 star thermal experience with different rooms! Who cares? The whole idea annoyed me, what an unfair addition and who would even use it anyway? 5 Star? Pffft.

Yes, I thought that. I still *kind of* do. But whoa boy, you should check it out. It IS better than a normal sauna. It IS quieter, it IS luxurious. It DOES have 5 different types of aromo/steam rooms. Of course, it is still an extra £15 a  month on top of my gym membership.  I weighed it up and put it onto perspective of how much I spend on a typical night out, or my recovery take away meal the next day.

I signed up.

I go around 3 times a week, and I love it. I work hard at the gym and I think I deserve a wee treat.

One of the best things about the gym and spa membership is that once I’ve had my week or two of living like a king after payday, and I’m back on to my scrimping and saving like a pauper stage (…I SUCK at money management…) I can go to gym classes and the spa without spending a penny.

Did I sell out, compromise my morals and scruples by getting the membership?

Hmmm.

They don’t call me Lisa ‘Fickle as Fuck’ Taylor for nothing you know!

No-one actually calls me that. Well, not that I know of! 😉

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to No way, not on your nelly… where do I sign?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees In Thought And Action | My Blog

  2. I wish I could sign up too! That sounds lovely, especially after all the work @ the gym

  3. Pingback: War And Courage | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Degrees of Right | Paul Scribbles

  5. cookiecharm says:

    We deserve to splurge a little! Funny! Great Read

  6. Pingback: 180 ̊̊̊̊ | atomickaleidoscope | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  7. Pingback: Half A Circle Away – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  8. Pingback: It May Have Saved My Life | So I Went Undercover

  9. It sounds wonderful and you should spoil yourself now and then 🙂

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees | Joe's Musings

  11. trendyhammer says:

    Go for it Lisa, You only get one chance at this life. 😉

Leave a Reply

