Synchronicity in Action

Have you ever truly felt déjà vu, the sensation that you’ve already had the experience you’re currently having?

I regularly get feelings of déjà vu.. and I believe this to be one of those signs that I’m ‘on the right path’.  After reading The Celestine Prophecy many years ago I was fascinated by the feeling of déjà vu and coincidences. The idea that synchronicities are not completely random and a sign from the universe that everything is unfolding as it should is mind-boggling, and incredibly exciting.

I explored my own synchronicities and started journaling them in a Coincidence Book. When you actively become aware of the many synchronicities in your life it is amazing how many more unfold and reveal themselves to you. Has this always been happening in my life and I just haven’t been too self-absorbed to notice?

Where then does free will come into it? The feeling that the universe is guiding us along our correct path contradicts the idea of free will; the power of acting without the constraint of necessity or fate. Or perhaps it is the exercise of expressing your own free will that matches up with the universes alignment? What about ‘bad’ people, do they also experience occasional déjà vu and coincidences? If so, does that mean they are supposed to be on the path that they have chosen, despite the fact that their actions have a detrimental affect on others? While we are free to make our own choices,  we are not free from the consequences of the choices we make.

I know I have posed a lot of questions there. My reality is: I don’t think I question things enough.

I like to believe that many signs come my way to reassure me that my actions are choices are correct. I like to believe in fate.

Below is a quote from an older blog post of mine (is it up your own ass to quote yourself!?) I’m reposting this particular paragraph as it sums up how I feel as I wander along my life path.

EVERYTHING happens for a reason. Have you ever sat with your friends talking about how if ‘x’ never happened then there wouldn’t be ‘y’? I love doing that, it puts my life path into perspective. Even during the times when I felt as though I didn’t know where I was heading; I must have done, on some level.  Or else all of these positive things and people wouldn’t be in my life now.

Here is an uncanny thing. The picture below was on my facebook feed yesterday, and made me think about this subject. Then today, the Daily Prompt asked me to think about it again.

Coincidence? That is synchronicity, in a simple form, in action.

Synchronicity quoteIt doesn’t matter how you believe the synchronicity in the universe works. Angels? Perhaps. A god? Perhaps. Our combined consciousness?

Who REALLY knows.

I just know that I believe it to work, and therefore it does.

P.S I signed up to get TUT’s Notes from the Universe delivered to my inbox every morning. I know the notes aren’t actually from the universe, but they COULD be 😉

It’s a great way to start your day, with a little drop of appreciation and gratitude.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Synchronicity in Action

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Deja Vu | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pelican1 says:

    I like the idea of a Coincidence Book. I may try this myself.

    • misselletea says:

      It is amazing what you start to notice! I admittedly stopped filling mine in after a short while, but I still have it, and I’m still aware of them happening. I’m just too last to remember to record them all 😉

  3. Mr. Atheist says:

    I have not heard this title in years. Reading the words “Celestine…” brought back a lot of memories. Mostly good one. It was the book that I “latched” onto as I exited the church. I had become a full-fledged-card-carrying Atheist, but without a road map or direction. We didn’t have internet like we do now and the voices were drowned out by the noises emitting from the Calvary Chapel chapters popping up everywhere.

    I was reading that book by the pool one day. An older gentleman jumped into the hot tub, with his wife, and they were having a nice time. The wife got up and walked over to my and said that her husband had read that book and had some insights to share if I cared to listen.

    Wha? Huh? This book is real!

    I jumped into the hot tub. I spent the next couple of hours discussing my journey, his journey. His wife brought us some ice cold drinks (several times). I was beyond intrigued. I was certain these things were real and that the book was speaking volumes of truth….

    I will say that this was on the very first leg of my journey. My first “port o’ call”. It served to be an invaluable lesson, but only a lesson. I chose to keep searching.

    I ran into that nice old man (now) a few years later. We stopped and had coffee. He was still the guard of the old port. He decided that he was comfortable with calling, what had been to me only a stop, his home. I could see that it brought him peace and joy. He looked at me with wonder. He looked at me as I would probably look at an Astronaut; you ventured way out there? What’s it like?

    He was still holding on to the basics of the CP. He was still drawing lines and conclusions about meaning in his life from arbitrary moments.

    He was an educated man. He was a professor at a rather prestigious University in Los Angeles. I asked him rather simply and directly the following question:

    “Are we not pattern seeking mammals?”

    He looked at me. The steam from his coffee rose and hid his brow. He took the sip. He put the cup on the table and looked at me. Squarely.

    “Enjoy your journey. I am okay here.”

    • misselletea says:

      Thank you for sharing your beautiful story with me, is that a genuine encounter? I’m only asking that question as it’s incredibly well written and I’m worried that I’m missing a philosophical undertone other than the obvious 🙂

      How is your journey going? I’ve never been part of a church, I imagine that choosing to leave one could be quite daunting, especially if you have been part of that community for a long time.

      One day I plan to explore more and define what it is that I believe, but at the moment I really enjoy the journey of life and the only plan I really have is to be open and receptive to new ideas and opportunities as they arise.

      • Mr. Atheist says:

        True story. I only leave out the names and locations to protect those I cannot speak for. This is how I remember it. It is truncated as I did not want to “hijack” your lovely post.

        My journey is never-ending. I seek the truth wherever it leads. Sometimes I don’t like the truth. It reminds me of yet another thing I have learned… The truth doesn’t care how I “feel”. It just is. Truth is like a great friend. The great friends tell us what we don’t like to or want to hear. We can chose to listen or not.

        Stopping to take in the scent of the jasmine as it blooms or the orange blossoms as the bees begin their harvest is all part of the journey. My journey is mine. I can either choose to hear the hummingbird or not. It doesn’t matter. That hummingbird is just doing what it needs to do on its journey.

        I commend you for seeking. I implore that you continue seeking. No matter where it leads. As long as you are guided by the desire to reach the truth…

      • misselletea says:

        And I love your story all the more knowing that it’s a real encounters of yours! You have an amazing way with words and seem very wise, I’m humbled you took time to stop by and read my post 🙂

  4. Ruby says:

    I really enjoyed your post, some food for thought here! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Deja Vu | Paul Scribbles

  6. fluffmum says:

    You expressed yourself beautifully there! 🙂

    I’d actually forgot all about the celestine prophecy… Did you read the sequels? I may dig them out again, now you’ve reminded me!! 🙂

    • misselletea says:

      Why thank you ma’am. I haven’t read the sequels. I’m up for revisiting the CP again, so I will definitely check others out. Have you read them?

      • fluffmum says:

        I read the 1st two sequels for sure, can’t quite remember if I read the last one… I’ve definitely got the Celestine prophecy & 2 of the sequels packed away upstairs… Still need to unpack all my books, was waiting to get a proper bookcase, still waiting 5 years later!! Lol

  7. Pingback: Déjà Vu By Another Name | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Deja Vu – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  9. I used to be acutely aware of synchronicities that happened in my life until they began to happen so often that they BECAME my life. Now, I don’t think twice about it, I just have a wee smile when the coincidences come. I’m more likely to notice now when they don’t happen 🙂

    • misselletea says:

      That’s awesome! Did you do anything to become aware of them, like a Coincidence Book, or were you just more conscious of them happening? I’m definitely going to start my coincidence book again:)

  10. Pingback: Deja Vu | Yes, It has happened before | Bullets & Dreams

  11. Awesome post! I’m going to have to read The Celestine Prophecy now!

    Also, I’ve always felt that the idea of fate and free will go hand in hand. There are many paths laid out for a person, and all of humanity. We each have the individual choice to choose which path to walk, and the summation of our individual choices will determine the overall path on which humanity finds itself. Saul Williams says this way more poetically than I can: http://vimeo.com/39034089

  12. yogini27 says:

    Hi Lt thanks for stopping by my blog I enjoyed this story and will look into the daily notes from the universe. Go well!

  13. Pingback: I used to be indecisive, not I’m not so sure… | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

  14. nanuschka says:

    Fantastic piece! The Celestine Prophecy was part of a big turnaround point in my life! Once you are open to the ideas, it leads you down a rabbit hole of information that will blow your mind. Thank you for the link to TUT, I will definitely be signing up there too! You might also be interested in “What the Bleep do we know?”. It’s a docu-movie that makes sense of quantum physics and how it all fits together.

  15. Pingback: What makes it popular? The Stat Connection | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

Leave a Reply

