Can you judge a book by its cover?

If you were to judge your favorite book by its cover, would you still read it?

Lets look at my two favourite books:

Time travellers wife bookI like this cover, I think the whispy blurred edges hint to some mysterious happenings, and I would be intrigued to find out what.

Oh, ‘The Time Travellers Wife’.

What about her? I’m still intrigued. Yep, I would definitely read this based on the cover.

Pillars of the earth

 

 

 

My other favourite book is Ken Follets ‘Pillars of the Earth’.

The cover is quite dramatic, yet it doesn’t actually tell me anything about what the book will be about. I really like the name of this story, and the cover isn’t a bad one.

Without reading the synopsis/blurb at the back I think I would choose to read this, but perhaps that is only because I already know how amazing this book is!

I really enjoyed visiting the library and browsing through books. I didn’t go in with an idea of what I was going to read, nor did I take the advice on the shelves of ‘if you like this author then you might like these people who write in the same style’. I would just choose a section, and quickly work my eyes over the rows until something caught me – the name of the book, or a design on the sleeve. I’d then take that book out, assess the cover in conjunction with the synopsis, and either put it back, or take it home with me.

I used the past tense in that paragraph as I very rarely visit my library now that I have a kindle. Not only that, when I first got my kindle it took me almost a year to finish my first book! No idea why.  That’s almost a year of not reading.

I’m part of two book clubs, one where we actually meet, and another one that is a closed group on fbook where people post recent reads and assess them. Basically now all of my reading material is based on recommendations.

I’m feeling a bit nostalgic over my old book selecting habits; I think I’ll be taking a trip to my library soon. For old times sake!

SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL LIBRARY!!!!! I pledge to visit once a month. Who’s in?

 

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Can you judge a book by its cover?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | My Atheist Blog

  2. snosler says:

    TTWife is a GREAT cover – I think it appeals to a lot of readers! Anyway, stopping in to see what others wrote for the Prompt – hope you have time to visit soon and read my take on it – Cheers!

  3. I’m in! I don’t get to the library nearly enough these days. Same as you, I got a Kindle. Mine just updated itself and now it gives me an estimate as to how long it will take me to finish a book based on my previous reading rate. I find this strange . . .

  4. quingbee28 says:

    I love both books as well and think that yes I would read them both even if I know nothing about the story and just based it on the covers 🙂

  5. Pingback: Sometimes A Picture Or Book Cover Is Worth Three Words – “Not For Me” | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Duncton Wood | paul scribbles

  7. Pingback: Don’t judge me. | Theresa's Blog

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | Joe's Musings

  9. ANN says:

    TTWife is also one of may books i really enjoyed reading, though its quite difficult to follow at first. hehehe

    • misselletea says:

      It is a bit. Have you seen the film? Its rubbish! Maybe if it wasn’t called The Time Travellers Wife it would be ok, but as I expected a version of the book I was disappointed. Overly adapted if you ask me!

  10. ANN says:

    nope i havent seen the movie. but i’ll check it though. its usually common that when book was put in the big screen… it always gives lesser expectation than the original book.

Leave a Reply

