Social Media Junkie Alert!

Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

I’m an addict!

100% addicted to Facebook, when I’m around a source to the Internet. I don’t miss it THAT much if I’m on holiday, or away for a weekend somewhere with no connection/reception.

I totally love online banter with my homies, and I love keeping in touch with new friends I’ve met through an easy, friendly, online platform. A couple of years ago Schmerc and I went to a samba workshop in Manchester and while there we met some lovely folks. We added each other on Facebook and occasionally kept in touch. The following year they asked us down to play with them in the Manchester Day Parade, and put us up for the weekend. Facebook works for me as you don’t have to commit to a full, ‘Hi, how are you?’ type of conversation. A small comment here or there is all that is required. I’m sure that if we weren’t in regular contact and ‘visibly there’.. we probably would have drifted and perhaps not have been asked to take part in the parade. I’m glad that our friendship grew even more so through the wonderful world of social media.

My verdict on Facebook? It’s great for old friends, and it’s great for new ones.

Here is a video of the parade… we come in at 3 mins 30 seconds 🙂

On the other hand..

I can see how social media platforms can be negative; particularly for shy types, or those who have lots of online friends but don’t spend that much time with ‘real’ people. Watching other people put up photos, forming groups, attending events and having banter can occasionally make people feel jealous, insecure and give them doubts about their own life. Sometimes people want more than what they have, and when someone else’s life is in your face it may appear that theirs is better. Note that I use the word ‘appear’. I actually hate the fact that Facebook can conjure up such negative emotions and insecurities.

Finally..

Last week I went to the Darts at the SECC with my brother and some friends. I recently changed my name on Facebook, and one of the girls who was with us said that when I commented on one of her photos she wasn’t sure who I was (She didn’t recognise the name, and my profile picture doesn’t show my face). She looked at more photos to identify me, and then spent some time trawling, checking out my goings on as we don’t see each that often. From the photos she concluded that I’m always having lots of fun, doing cool stuff. The actual truth of this statement is that I take wayyy more photos than the average Joe when I do ANYTHING, so it gives this illusion of super fun happy times happening all of the time.

I haven’t joined Twitter as I have already become addicted to the wonderful world of Facebook AND WordPress. My time is valuable to me and I can only spend so much time of it online, as there is so much other stuff that I want to do too.

On that note, see you later!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Social Media Junkie Alert!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Social Network | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Social Media and Digital Devices | Not the Family Business!

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Social Accountability” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

