Success is the reward for hard work!

Tell us about a time where everything you’d hoped would happen actually did

Do good things happen if you merely hope that they will? I love this quote by Paulo Coelho –

When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.

I’m choosing to tar ‘hope’ and ‘want’ with the same brush in this post. I do believe the statement in the quote, it has proved itself over so many times in the my life and also that of my friends.

While I believe it to be true, I believe that there is a catch – you can’t sit on your ass all day hoping for things, and wanting your life to be different and expect it to be so. You need to take steps, create a ripple in your life that results in some sort of change. When you accept responsibility for your own choices, the universe will certainly throw a helping hand your way and lots of beneficial opportunities will seem to just ‘appear’.

I’m still stuck in my quandary of wanting change but not being sure of the best course of action – it sucks. I was talking to my beau about it yesterday and reasoned that because I’m spending so much time thinking about possible new avenues and new ventures and not actually taking decisive action to kick-start the changes, I am leaving myself feeling a bit unfulfilled. I’m not unhappy, I love so many things about my life, friends, family, hobbies.. yet I still have this feeling of wanting more. Of wanting to give more of me FOR me. I hope that makes sense. I’m still waiting, hoping, wanting and assessing my options, but I need to take positive actions soon or else I’ll go crazy! I have applied for a college course so we’ll see how that pans out before making any other radical moves!

Back to the original answer to the question posed.

A few years ago I decided to run a residential drum workshop for my samba band, getting a tutor to teach us new techniques and new grooves. We decided to open this up to the wider community and invited drummers who weren’t part of our band. I was really enthusiastic about setting it all up. I advertised, created booking slips, set up payment options, sourced a venue, sourced catering for the week, managed the budget, sorted band logistics, arranged logistics for the drum tutor, provided information for guests…

I had hoped with all my might that it would run smoothly, and I was well chuffed that it did. The whole thing ran more smoothly than I could have imagined. I think it was a culmination of the enthusiasm and organising that made it work.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Success is the reward for hard work!

  1. That sounds like a wonderful success 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your musical success! Isn’t it great when you get what you hoped for?

  3. Pingback: Measure of Success | Daily Prompt: Success! | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  4. Pingback: No Good Thing Ever Dies | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: PowerShort-Success | Bastet and Sekhmet

  6. Pingback: Success! My Name in Lights | KnowledgeKnut

Leave a Reply

