Gallus!

Language evolves. The meaning of a word can shift over time as we use it differently — think of “cool,” “heavy,” or even “literally.”

Today, give a word an evolutionary push: give a common word a new meaning, explain it to us, and use it in the title of your post.

Gallus! It is one of my most favourite words. It’s such a GALLUS word. Once upon a time if someone was described as being ‘gallus’ they would be a self-assured cheeky wee monkey full of bravado and confidence. The type of person that always pushes their luck, quite successfully.

Now it means the most highest, coolest form of Brilliant ever. Like awesome, only more awesome. I say it when I see (or hear) something that I think oozes coolness, and instantly love. It is now often said with a slightly screwed up face…  the same face that music lovers make when their favourite part of the tune comes on, particularly techno lovers.

Another word that has changed meaning in my social circle is the word Gay. We all know it went from ‘Happiness’ to labeling homosexual people. It has progressed even further. I wrote about this change of word a few months ago, please check it out HERE, or you will always be left wondering exactly what I was going on about it.

P.S I have a college interview next week!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Random Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gallus!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Morphing | On My Front Porch

  2. Pingback: Is is Is | The Jittery Goat

  3. Gallus just might be the neatest word that ever worded.

  4. Have never heard of Gallus. I’m old. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

