Taking care – the aftermath of a party.

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

Ha, what an appropriate question! After having a long weekend off from work for my beau’s outdoor birthday party/camp trip I started to feel ill on Monday. Not hangover ill, I didn’t even have a hang over on Sunday.

I returned to work on Tuesday but had to go home as I had been sick twice, had no energy and felt like poop. I tried to come back in on Wednesday but left after lunch time as again I had been sick and I was so so soooo tired! Is it naive of me to think that this bout of illness was unrelated to my party weekend? On the grand scheme of things I took it easy, I slept on the Friday night and chilled out by the tents all of Saturday day, eating, drinking juice, sunning my tan and flipping my flops. I did start partying again on Saturday night, but I didn’t do anything excessive.

I thought I partied sensibly, and I did so because I didn’t want an aftermath. I absolutely hate being ill. I wish I could pull my socks up and get on with it, but the truth is I’m really bad at it. What I am really good at is: feeling sorry for myself. Poor Marco, he had to deal with a ‘woe is me’ girlfriend who became incredibly needy! I’m quite ashamed of just how pathetic I become… I want sympathy and I want hugs.

I returned to work yesterday, still not 100% but not being sick (woo hoo!) however I am sporting a massive cold sore slap bang in the middle of my bottom lip. My body lets me know when I’m run down. The best thing about cold sores is that when they go away I look in the mirror and think ‘yeah baby, you got it!’ I don’t actually have ‘it’, what I don’t have is a minging scab on my face and that gives the illusion for a day or so that I’m very good looking!

Today is Friday, I’d say I’m 98% back to me. I don’t think the weekend cause my illness, I think it made me run down and more susceptible to picking stuff up. No matter, I’ve partied myself out and won’t be drinking for the next month or so as my soul needs time to recover.

What a party though! A barn and a marquee with sound systems, a barn for chilling, a field for camping, and the back drop of the Forest of Ae.

1Outdoor Party, Me and Gav

Outdoor party 23

See? That’s me with the hat on in the last photo. Clearly not getting up to mischief!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Shenanigans and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking care – the aftermath of a party.

  1. nanuschka says:

    Wow, it sounds like it was an absolute blast! Glad you’re feeling better

  2. Pingback: Pride | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

