When I freestyle, I lose … confidence (There’s a picture of New York)

Write a letter to the personality trait you like least, convincing it to shape up or ship out.

Dear Confidence,

When you are there, you are amazing. You give me strength, allow me to have friendly chats with strangers and enable me to dazzle my friends with witty banter (!?) You make me happy because I believe in myself and when I believe in myself I dream big, and get enthused by the possibilities of what is yet to come.

Why then, do you disappear half of the time? You leave me high and dry when I bump into people I kind of know in the street. Your absence makes me sweat profusely, say nonsense things and then I walk away thinking ‘jeesh, I’m a twat!’

Don’t think I haven’t noticed the other times you disappear. When a situation arises that I need to believe in myself, you seem to doddle off somewhere and leave me fending for myself. You think its ok to let Self Doubt take your role for a while? Honestly, it’s not. It’s not ok. It is NOT COOL.

If you have been trying to teach me a lesson; I will learn. I don’t want to become one of those people who freak me out – you know, the type of person who is so full of self-confidence who ends up coming across as arrogant and who seems unaware of others around them. I won’t be that person. All I want is for a bit of you to be my side through it all. If you feed me strength I will feed you humbleness. That is a promise.

Thank you for listening Confidence, I hope we can become best friends as time goes by.

With gratitude (cause even though you disappear sometimes I do enjoy the times that you are here),

LT.

The title of my post is taken from this video… from 2 mins 42 seconds in:

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to When I freestyle, I lose … confidence (There’s a picture of New York)

  1. Great letter, thanks for sharing it with us. What are you studying, it sounds like a fun class?

  2. So this may be a bit weird of a comment, but every morning before I get out of bed – and before I go to bed @ night – I repeat a few things to myself…the first and foremost being: “I’m a Bad Ass Mother F**ker [BAMF]; followed by…”Samuel L. Jackson is BAMF and I’m sure he gets worried and scared and has bad days, too, but y’know, he’s still a BAMF despite it all and I’m gonna be a BAMF just like that, too, despite anything”.
    I also find myself repeating that sentiment and thought process whenever a situation may arise, and it definitely has helped me “shore up” my confidence (or at least prevents all of it from wandering off). Keep strong! You got what it takes!! 😀

  3. Pingback: A jail without windows | Vivir, que no es poco

  4. Pingback: A Letter To An Indecisive Employee | The Jittery Goat

  5. A Sign Of Life says:

    You’re much nicer to your confidence than I am. Haha. Thank you for sharing. :

  6. Pingback: WITHOUT YOUR LOVE | hastywords

  7. yogini27 says:

    Oh thank so much for posting our kiwi boys aren’t they the best? We are very proud of them. Your letter is beautiful, …….

    • misselletea says:

      I love Flight of the Conchords, the series is so funny! The thing is.. they are really talented musicians, they pretty much nail every genre, even though they are taking the piss a bit. Love it!
      Thanks for commenting on my letter, it was a response to a daily prompt 🙂

Leave a Reply

