Risk taking and The Fear

What’s the biggest risk you’d like to take — but haven’t been able to? What would have to happen to make you comfortable taking it?

I’ve already taken part in todays Daily Prompt by the means of a photo. I chose the photo option as I have already spoken about a massive risk that I have been too scared to take because of The Fear of the Unknown.

I have read a few responses to this prompt and the most common answer is that people would like to change their jobs. Me too. When I was younger and I spoke to people who told me they hated their jobs I would wonder why they still worked there as life is ours for the taking and there are so many options available that no one should rest on their laurels.

I’ve been thinking about it a little more today, and I am still of the thinking that I want a new job, and I’m actively looking for new ventures. Money ISN’T everything to me, it genuinely isn’t, but when I decide to embark on a new venture I need it to be financially viable for me as I like the life I lead. I think one of the biggest things holding me  back from taking such a massive risk is that my weekends are full of things that do (unfortunately) cost money. I don’t have to spend loads, but because of the activities I do and the hobbies I have, money is definitely a pre-requisite for experiencing life the way I want to (holidays, trips, eating out, etc).

I’m not sure where I’m going with this defensive post. I think I’m writing it to make myself feel better about still not having made the move. Really, like half of the authors of the blogs I have read today, I am scared. Real life takes over and I worry that the decision will be a wrong one and I will be worse off than I am now.

On a positive note, I have just signed up for a great new volunteering opportunity for a completely unrelated job to what I do now, and this excites me. I’m looking forward to helping out, plus I’m looking forward to the new avenues that will open up to me. Possible new career? Gaining experience in something else while I’m still earning is a comfortable option,  one that sits well with me. As long as I’m making progress in some small way or other I don’t feel too bad about having The Fear.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Risk taking and The Fear

  1. Pingback: A COVENANT MADE | hastywords

  2. Pingback: Fear Of Books (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Donate | Vivir, que no es poco

Leave a Reply

