I’m a sucker for romance…

Today this post is going to cover two things that I love: Romance and my Grandparents. Have I mentioned either before!?

My sister put this photo up on facebook, and it made my heart swell with love, pride, happiness and awe.

True rOmance

 

The picture on the left was taken two years ago when my grand parents celebrated their 6oth wedding anniversary, and the picture on the right was taken 62 years ago when they got married.

I’m not against divorce as I don’t see the point in living an unhappy life; EVERYONE deserves to be happy. My parents split up when I was 8, and I found it hard to witness my Dad being so unhappy, but then I think about how life might have turned out for everyone is my parents hadn’t split up – resentment and unhappiness amongst other negative emotions.

When I see old couples who made a vow to each other and stuck by each other through thick and thin, I can’t help but get all gooey inside. I like that commitment. I like the fact that when the two people declared their love for each other they were aware that over the years they would grow, and both of them were able to provide the love and support needed to help facilitate that growth.

True love doesn’t create boundaries. It has no limitations. Occasionally compromise is needed to reach a common ground, yet that isn’t bad. Having the compassion and sense to compromise when needed is a great character strength. It shows the ability to communicate effectively as well as the ability to accept that your needs and wants are not always more important than that of others.

Love isn’t about grand gestures. It is about all of the little things that make your partner/friends/family smile. It’s about putting yourself out there. It’s about realising that someone else is also putting themselves out there. It’s about respect and understanding.

If you’re in it together, then you’re in it together.

I wrote about All The Little Things a while back, if you fancy a read.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Family, Random Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m a sucker for romance…

  1. I agree with you! There are times when divorce is necessary but it’s lovely to see a couple stay married for so long. There were times when I thought my parents would divorce, in fact, I was sure of it. They’ve been together for over twenty years and go on road trips now.

    • misselletea says:

      That is totally amazing! I wonder what changed, to make them both realise that they love each other? I wish the same thing could happen to everyone! 😉

      • Me too. They always loved each other, but as a child sometimes it didn’t seem that way. I really wish everyone could marry and live happily together for life, especially when there’s children involved.

        I’m always filled with hope and happiness when I hear stories like this.

  2. Your photos, and grandparents, are lovely.

  3. misselletea says:

    My Granpa passed away in February. It hurts like mad, but I enjoy reading over my posts that feature him as he was, and always will be a massive part of my life. x

Leave a Reply

