Proud as punch

Tell someone you’re proud of just how proud you are.

Ha! I just Google searched my post title and found this definition on Urban Dictionary:

Believed to come from the English punch and Judy show that was popular at all seaside resorts. The character Punch was a proud fellow who would never admit to being wrong. This puppet character was in fact a bully with total disrespect for the law and family values. He often threw the baby out of the pram.

I’m not going to change my post title, instead I’ll assure you that my definition of the phrase is definitely not so negative! Proud as punch to me means being so proud of someone that it (the pride for them)  is almost bursting out of you. When you think of their achievements and accomplishes you can feel the admiration wanting to pop out of your heart.

Honestly, I’m proud of loads of people. In particular I’m proud of all of the ‘not so little’ people in my life who are teenagers and in the throes of growing up. It is with great delight that I can say my nieces and nephews have grown into lovely, thoughtful and funny young people. yes, they have managed to avoid falling in to ‘bad crowds’ and are definitely not neds (bams). Hooray for them! Pobody’s nerfect, and they do still have an occassional outburst if teenage angst, but in the main they are all good kids who I love, admire and respect greatly. Aw.

Can I roll two posts into one?

Well, yes, it is my blog. I’ll create a link: I am also proud of me, for finishing this little fella off:

Crochet dogphone july 006

 

He is a wee dog.

 

 

 

 

 

The reason I’m proud of me for finishing him off is that during summer I forget that I like certain crafts, and don’t spend much time doing them as I’m too busy enjoying the sunshine and joining in social activities. That’s allowed, as the sun doesn’t shine for long in Scotland!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Proud as punch

  1. Pingback: A Successful day… | The Rider

  2. Pingback: I’m Proud Of You | Cheri Speak

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back | flow of my soul

  4. kirkykoo79 says:

    He’s adorable – maybe you should call him Punch…?

Leave a Reply

