When I grow up, I want to be…

When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you? Are the two connected?

I was quite a fickle kid when it came to future aspirations. I wanted to be an astronaut for a while, and I also wanted to be a lawyer. I’m sure I had fleeting fancies with many more career choices, especially after watching themed movies – Dirty Dancing, Kick Boxer etc.

Being a ‘grown up’ now I almost sigh as I talk to my nieces and nephews about sticking in at school, as it is advice that I heard, and advice that often fell upon deaf ears. I did stick in and work hard, although I think being asked to seriously choose subjects that will help with your future ambition when you are 13 is a tall order.

I wish two things happened when I was at school.

The First Thing

Teachers explained the relevance and wonder of things. Maybe this did happen, and i missed it. For me, maths was all equations and sums, and no relevance. Now that I understand more about physics, maths, the universe I realise how cool it all is. If only that coolness and wonderment could have been passed to me when it mattered! Have you even read Nature’s Numbers? In my adult state of wanting to find out more, this book filled a massive hole. I’d be lying if I said I remembered all of the facts and concepts presented, but I know that I loved the book, enjoyed reading it, and talked about it for a while afterwards.

The Second Thing

I wish we had a class that explained a range of different job options that are available. Again, maybe this was covered in my ‘Guidance’ class, and I may not remember. I doubt it though. My nephew is 16 and has just left school. He left as my sister had relocated a number of times in the past few years, and at 16 he didn’t want to join another new school and go through the teenage turmoil of trying to fit in, make new friends and do well at school when many of the classes are different. He has been exploring career options and has applied for construction and mechanic courses at college. He has also talked about joining the army. I love that he is looking for a new avenue to explore, but I’m worried that he think this is it, and these are the only choices open to him.

I sent him a message with a few different career ideas, (Television Production (camera, sound, director, etc) – Sports Coach & Development – Hospitality Management – Physiotherapist/ sports massage – Carpentry – IT – Media/Graphic Design – Chef -Teaching – Renewable Energy or Agriculture) hoping that even if none of them sounded right for him he would at least be forced to think about it a bit more. If it turns out he really wants to do one of the options he’s already mentioned, then fair doo’s, I just want him to know that he if he thinks about what he currently enjoys, he can probably find a job doing that or using the same skills.

When I was younger I always looked at adults who moaned about their jobs and thought, ‘sack that!’ Why would you continue working somewhere when you don’t enjoy it? Money isn’t everything. Yet I am in the same position! I hate my current role, and I’m too scared to fully commit to a definite change.

In my defence… I have lots of past times that I enjoy, I’m open to new personal experiences, and I am looking for a new job. Why leave something crap to go to something equally as crap? Two clichés apply to my current thinking:

  1. The grass isn’t always greener on the other side
  2. Sometimes it’s a case of better the devil you know

Yet deep down I know one crucial fact….

The magic happens outside of your comfort zone!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When I grow up, I want to be…

  1. houseofewes says:

    I can very much relate to this post. I had no idea what kind of options where available to me as an adult in the work-force. Heck if they had had a class on basic life skills (balancing a checkbook, health insurance, shopping for a household on a budget, etc.) I would certainly have taken that class. I think of these things for my teenagers and realise that even I can’t explain to them the world of possibilities that awaits them when all they can think about is the next test they have to pass.
    Great post. I’m a “hater” of mathematics, but I just added that book to my reading list 🙂

    • misselletea says:

      I’m so glad you can relate to this! I often wonder when I post things if I’m the only one who feels that way, and if my posts make sense!

      It is hard to explain all of the possibilities to our younger people, especially without sounding ‘old’.I guess all we can is give it a good bash, and have faith that they make the right decisions and find their way. And even if they don’t make the right decisions all of the time, hope they have sense to realise!

      Please let me know what you think of the book, it is seriously awesome. It takes a subject and breaks it into small, digestible chunks that make sense. YOu may be surprised!

      🙂

  2. Pingback: My top five things I want to be when I grow up… | My Top Fives...

  3. Cinnwriter says:

    I could certainly relate to the Two Things you wish you had known. Me, too! I often said that I wished somebody would have given me a “Book of Life” to explain some of the things that I think people are expected to know. I feel so much wiser now, but then…whew…like you said, math was not relevant. Now it is totally relevant! Thanks for the post!!

Leave a Reply

