In the still of the night

For a moment today, time stands still — but you can tweak one thing while it’s stopped. What do you do?

Lying there in the still of the night,

I tried to muster with all my might,

To stay awake and appreciate.

*

The little things that came my way;

The moments of joy that sprinkled my day.

*

I acknowledged my gratitude, had a think,

Although the time got longer with each blink,

My time awake was fading fast.

*

I loved and remembered, then against my will,

I fell asleep and my mind was still.

If time could stand still, I wouldn’t tweak anything to make any changes that would change the world when time started moving again. What I would do, is – freeze time in the morning and hold onto the moment of morning spooning with my beau that is so perfect. Comfortable, loving, wholesome togetherness. I would be more than happy to submerge myself in that comfy space for a while longer, before defrosting time and getting on with my day.

Yeah, we could stay in bed longer any day we wanted, but the thing about the scenario above is that the most perfect, perfect just happens to be when we have commitments, like work. Ugh!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In the still of the night

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Standstill | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. lvsrao says:

    Good post. Spending time IDLE looses perfectness in life.

  3. Pingback: Time Is Just An Illusion! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  4. Pingback: When Time Stopped #microfiction #amwriting | Moondustwriter's Blog

  5. Pingback: Stillness | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: Could I really function in split time? | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: When Time Stands Still, I’m Trumping Trump | The Arkside of Thought

  8. Pingback: Rocket to space | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Can’t Stop This | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

