Good things come to those who wait…

Do they? Do they really?

I’m not 100% convinced, as some of the most fulfilled people I know have grabbed life by the goolies, opened themselves up to lots of new experiences and dipped toes through doors of opportunities. I know that isn’t how ALL of the magic happens; sometimes hard-work and perseverance are the main culprits needed to achieve positive momentum.

For a while there I felt like my life was on hold. I was still enjoying myself, going to the gym, crocheting, etc, but I had this weird feeling of everything else moving forward except from me. I half heartedly looked for new jobs, didn’t apply for most of them and then moaned about not having found a new job. I offered myself to volunteer with my local authority in a children’s residential unit. I was accepted, but due to internal shufflings they still haven’t sorted out a place for me. Basically, despite being semi receptive to change, and really REALLY wanting it – my life was a bit on hold.

Was.

In the past 2 months my beau and I have moved into a new flat and I’m going to be starting a new job in 2 1/2 weeks! Where this burst of life changes came from, I don’t really know, But I LOVE it. I love our new pad. We hadn’t been seriously thinking of moving for long, it just sort of happened. I’m glad it did, the new place felt like home immediately, and everything about it just seems to suit us. Swoon!

As for the new job… well, it isn’t the amazing career change that I had been after, but it IS a change. I had an informal chat with two people who were looking for someone, and amazingly we hit it off really well. I’ll still be working in marketing, but for a different industry. The two people who own the company managed to enthuse and inspire me within a few minutes of our chat. It really is refreshing to meet people who are so passionate about something (even if it isn’t an art) and so ambitious. Right now I’m not feeling as though Marketing is another means of selling your soul to the devil, I’m actually really excited about new challenges and being in a position where I’m engaging my brain.

The worst thing to have happened in the past few weeks is the fact that I’ve lost my gym mojo. I had been to at least 3 classes per week for 11 weeks in a row (it was closer to 4), and then I moved house. I was totally absorbed in other stuff, and I still kind of am. I have reset my goal and I’m trying to find the motivation that helped me get so into my mini challenge before. I think the junk food that I have been eating has hidden it!

Ah well, one step at a time!

Thanks for listening/reading. I’m glad that I have been able to share my news and also get the obligatory Catch Up post out of the way, so normal blogging activities can resume.

Love!

Living room picture

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Random Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good things come to those who wait…

  1. Harmony says:

    The new place looks gorgeous – I love the bay window!

    Good luck for the new job!

    • misselletea says:

      Thank you on both counts!

      I totally love the new pad, we now have a dining table (first time for me in my adult life!) so we spend more time in the kitchen than anywhere else. The living room makes me smile because of all the colour 🙂

  2. Jacki Maynard says:

    I completely relate to your inability to keep up with all your good hobbies (like the gym). I feel lately like I’ll find something new that I love and then pursue it with such zeal that I forget about all the other things I’m trying to cultivate at the same time. Alas, I think routine is incredibly important to cultivating habits. Easier said than done. A lot of us find routine unbearable. Perhaps that changes as we get older? Thanks for the read, congrats on the new place, it looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

