Whits ‘at aw aboot?

Hats aff tae ye if ye can unnerstaun this!

Ah’ve goat the freedom to write whit ah want tae, as long as ah use ma locul dialect.

Weel, haur is th ‘hing. Ah’m no sure ah really huv one. Fair enough, ah don’t pronounce the T in beautaffal the way ah should, but itherwise ah dot ma I’s an’ cross ma T’s. Hing on! Ah do pronounce the T! Its th’ bit efter that ah don’t really dae richt. Instead of saying, beauT-Tee-ful, ah hink ah say beut-A-ffal. Mental!

Imagine that ah soon’it mair Scottish than ah’m actually ur. I wid soon’ a bit like ‘this. An’ it’s weird, cause naebody pure talks li’ this AW the time. That wid be toatelly stupit. Onyway’s ah’m a bit crabbit the day, so ah’m gonnae shoot aff fur noo and let ye get oan wi yer day.

I hope ye have a braw yin.

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Whits ‘at aw aboot?

  1. Pingback: Rashmi Rathi (with translation) : Best hindi poem | Processing the life

  2. Pingback: Vad vill du? Ge poäng… NKI, nöjd kund index | Neo Gallerian

  3. Ah now, this reminds me of a Scottish Head Porter I once knew. He bought me a Scottish/English dictionary one Christmas. I still have it somewhere. Enjoyed and smiled 🙂

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Urdu and Desis | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Peter And Uncle Joe Down On The Farm | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Local | Ninnas Words 'n Pics

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt Non Regional Diction: Trog and other Animals | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  9. geanieroake says:

    I think I got most of it -reading, but if you were saying it and talking fast no way. Do Scotts listening to Americans think we have an accent?

    • misselletea says:

      Defnitely! I think the American accent is quite soft and welcoming. I can recognise different accents within America, but I’m not able to really identify them.

      Scottish accents and slang terms are a bit cringe worthy and sound ‘rough’. I try my hardest to eliminate any twangs at interviews and such like, but I always end up slipping back to saying ‘ah’ instead of ‘I’.

      What is realllllly funny… is listening to some Scottish people trying to do an American accent! 98% major fail! 🙂

  10. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s Vernacular Spectacular! | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Talking Australian English… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  12. I knew it wur Scottish as soon as add got to ‘aboot’ then it wur easy to read rest of it (that’s Mancunian) ;0)

Leave a Reply

