Must not cry, must not cry, must not freaking cry!!

People are afraid of all kinds of things: spiders, the dark, or being enclosed in small spaces. Tell us about your greatest fear — rational or irrational.

Right now, I am totally worried about crying tomorrow. That is my current Fear.

I normally love crying, I actually pride myself on my ability to empathise with people and feel secretly pleased that I’m so emotional – (I work, yay!)

Tomorrow is different though.

Tomorrow is my last day at work in my current job, and I’ll have to say by to everyone. I’ve been here for almost 8 years, so I will feel sad and emotional, even though I’m making the move that I’ve wanted for a while. Venturing onto pastures new and being excited about the future doesn’t automatically overwrite the fact that I’m leaving somewhere that I have been used to for some time.

The thing about crying tomorrow is… I work with a bunch of guys! The only thing that can be worse then me crying is the awkwardness that will follow as no one will know how to react, and we’ll all just be feeling a bit weirded out and uncomfortable for a while.

I have thought about it and come up with two possible options:

  1. Watch sad stuff tonight, with a view to releasing lots of emotion in advance so that I’m all cried out by the time tomorrow evening comes.
  2. Before I actually say bye to everyone  watch ten minutes worth of cute/funny kitten videos, hoping that the overdose on cuteness will give me enough positive vibes to last through the good-byes.

Hmmm, I think I’m onto plums. I could try both of my theories above, but the reality of it is, I’ll still cry as I’m a big soft sap!

About misselletea

30 year old female who's interested in all sorts, but not very good at most. I love life, love, colour, friends... and I love being.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Must not cry, must not cry, must not freaking cry!!

  1. afsheenanjum says:

    Hey ~
    I have gone through like the same feelings like you are facing right now , i left my job on 30th Sep, but i somehow manage NOT TO CRY or GET EMOTIONAL infront of every one. It was tough but not impossible , just prepare yourself and don’t look into eyes of your friends 🙂
    Best of luck any way 🙂

    • misselletea says:

      Thanks for the words of encouragement, and well done on your own accomplishment!

      I’m going to try with all my might, then probably go home and blub for a minute or so before going through all the other emotions of starting a new job on Monday! 🙂

  2. T's Memoirs says:

    Congrats on your new job!
    I hope all goes well tomorrow. Don’t worry about crying. I bet the guys are going to be sad too!

    • misselletea says:

      Hmmm, I think they’ll be sad to see me go, but I imagine they’ll get more laughs remembering the goodbye, after the awkwardness has passed.

      Thanks for your well wishes 🙂

  3. Pingback: Going through Childbirth | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Fear | victor's mind

  6. Pingback: Fear Factor: Courage – A Festival of Lights | Khana's Web

  7. Pingback: Arthur Overcomes The Fear Of Books, (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  8. afsheenanjum says:

    Hey .. Hope you are doing well.. so what happened today ? did you cry ? how was your farewell ?

  9. Pingback: Phobophobia | Processing the life

  10. Pingback: I’m afraid I forgot the title of this one . . . | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Fear Factor | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  12. Pingback: Fear Factor | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  13. kansa muse says:

    Just to let you know I enjoyed your post. I look forward to more. I also awarded you two awards. Please check them on my blog. http://kansamuse.me/2013/12/29/loving-blogging/

  14. Chrissy says:

    I love this post. Know exactly what you mean x

Leave a comment